• Advocating for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education across Australia

    Join us!

  • NATSIPA -Te Akatea 2022

    All educators are welcome to join us in Sydney!

    A showcase of excellence in First Nations educational leadership.

  • Our Purpose

    To be the foremost representative voice of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander school principals adding value to the national education agenda.

    • To increase the breadth and depth of high quality Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander principals in educational leadership.
    • To sustain a coordinated professional support network of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander educational leaders.
    • To build strong relationships and partnerships with principals, education systems and other organisations working to improve outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.
    • To work with education and professional representative groups to strategically influence future state and national policies relating to the well-being and life chances of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.
    • To promote reconciliation and greater understanding and respect to ensure that Aboriginal and Torres Islander knowledge and cultures inform education policies.
    • To analyse and advise on the impact policies and practices have on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander school communities.
    • The property and income of the Association shall be applied solely towards the promotion of the aim and objectives of the Association and no part of that property or income may be paid or otherwise distributed, directly or indirectly, to members, except in good faith in the promotion of those aims and objectives.

  • Our Executive

    Currently NATSIPA has five (5) executive members from our states and territories.


    • President, Dyonne Anderson, Principal Cabbage Tree Island Publc School – NSW,
    • Vice President, Judith Ketchell, Executive Principal Tagai College Torres Strait Islands
    • Donna Bridge, -Brentwood Primary School WA
    • Kath Wenban, Deputy Principal Miles High School- QLD 
    • Deb Fairey, John Hartley School School-SA
  • The Bigger Picture

    our story in numbers


    Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Students


    Membership for NATSIPA


    ATSI Educators


    ATSI Principals


    Australian Schools